Other Committees and Working Groups


Audit and Risk Committee

The main purpose and function of this Committee is to ensure that there is an adequate and effective system of internal control throughout Council and to assist in the operation and implementation of the Internal Audit Annual Plan. 

Conduct Review Committee

This committee enquires into any allegations of breaches of the Code of Conduct by either the Mayor, Deputy Mayor, Councillors or the General Manager, excluding complaints regarding pecuniary interest matters which shall be reported to the Director General of the Department of Local Government.

Dee Why Lagoon South Catchment Flood Study Working Group

This Working Group was established in late 2012 for the new Dee Why Lagoon South Flood Study. The aim of the group is to bring forward community knowledge, and to advise Council in the development and implementation of a floodplain risk management plan for the Dee Why South catchment. For information call the Natural Environment Unit on 9942 2111.

Dee Why Town Centre Working Group

The Working Party’s role is to provide a broad range of community perspectives into the development of a masterplan for the Dee Why Town Centre. The group’s activities will complement a broader community engagement process that will be undertaken by Council and the study team. For more information email chungd@warringah.nsw.gov.au.

Local Emergency Management Committee

Warringah is part of the Manly Warringah Pittwater Local Emergency Management Committee (LEMC) which provides the roles of planning, preparing, responding to and the recovery from emergencies as described in the State Emergency and Rescue Management Act 1989.

Warringah Council’s Local Emergency Management Officer represents Council on this committee along with the Pittwater and Manly Council representatives and all response agencies and supporting organisations.

Your Local Emergency Management Officer can be contacted via 9942 2111.

Manly Lagoon Catchment Coordinating Committee

The main function of the Manly Lagoon Catchment Coordinating Committee (MLCCC) is as an advisory body to both Warringah and Manly Councils on matters concerning the management of Manly Lagoon and its catchment.

Membership of the Committee comprises Councillors from Warringah and Manly Councils, the Member for Manly, representatives of the local community, and State Government agencies. Meetings are held quarterly and minutes reported to Council.

Narrabeen Lagoon Floodplain Risk Management Working Group

This is jointly managed by Warringah and Pittwater Council's. The principle aim of this Working Group is to bring together the expertise and diverse community knowledge needed to address floodplain risk management matters relating to the Narrabeen Lagoon catchment. For information call the Natural Environment Unit on 9942 2111.

Narrabeen Lagoon State Park Advisory Committee

The Narrabeen Lagoon State Park Advisory Committee acts in an advisory role to the Narrabeen Lagoon State Park Trust (NLSPT) which is managed by Warringah Council.

Membership of the Committee includes representatives from Warringah Council, NSW Crown Lands, NSW Office of Environment and Heritage (National Parks), NSW Dept Primary Industries (Fisheries), Metropolitan Aboriginal Land Council, recreational user groups and the community.

Northern Beaches Council Local Traffic Committee

Northern Beaches Council undertakes some aspects of traffic management on local roads such as the implementation of parking restrictions, traffic control devices and cycling facilities.

Council does not have the authority to introduce a restriction on the movement of traffic without the approval of the State Government. For example, Council needs approval to instigate a one way street, close a road, impose a load limit or prohibit a turn at an intersection.

Council must consider the advice of the Northern Beaches Council Local Traffic Committee (NBCLTC) when making a decision on traffic management issues. The NBCLTC is a technical advisory committee which provides a recommendation to Council for adoption.

The Committee consists of voting representatives from Council, Roads and Maritime Services, State Member of Parliament and NSW Police. Non voting specialists are invited to provide advice on specific matters. Regular attendees include representatives from the State Transit Authority (Sydney buses) and Forest Coach Lines. A community cycling representative attends the Committee in an advisory capacity.

The Traffic Committee usually meets on the first Tuesday of the month except January. Under the RMS guidelines for the operation of Local Traffic Committees, the meeting is not open to the public. If your issue has been listed in the Traffic Committee’s agenda, you are welcome to call us to discuss the possibility of addressing the Traffic Committee prior to the members considering the matter.

Any request for traffic facilities should be submitted in writing to the Council and will be reviewed by the Traffic and Road Safety team.

Warringah Youth Advisory Committee

The WYAC meets every month and provides invaluable advice to Council about youth issues. Call our Youth Development Officer for more information on 9942 2401.